Posts Tagged ‘Magners League’

The teams have announced the players for the Saturday 6.30 kick off at the Liberty Stadium.

Ospreys: Lee Byrne; Nikki Walker, Tommy Bowe, James Hook, Richard Fussell; Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb; Ryan Bevington, Richard Hibbard, Adam Jones, Ian Gough, Alun Wyn Jones (capt), Justin Tipuric, Marty Holah, Jonathan Thomas.

Replacements: Huw Bennett, Paul James, Duncan Jones, Ryan Jones, Jerry Collins, Mike Phillips, Andrew Bishop, Sonny Parker.

Munster: F Jones; D Howlett, L Mafi, P Warwick, K Earls, R O’Gara (capt), C Murray; M Horan, D Varley, J Hayes; I Nagle, D O’Callaghan; D Ryan, D Wallace, J Coughlan.

Replacements: M Sherry, W du Preez, T Buckley, T O’Donnell, N Ronan, P Stringer, D Barnes, S Zebo.


Magners have confirmed they will no longer back the Celtic League at the end of the season.

It will bring a 6 year association to an end after sponsoring the competition since 2005

“Magners will not be renewing their sponsorship of the Celtic rugby competition at the end of their current contract,” a spokesman for Magners said.

Italian car makers Fiat are reportedly interested in taking over the sponsorship.

Italian sides Aironi Rugby and Benetton Treviso joined the competition at the start of the 2010-11 campaign to bring to 12 the number of teams involved over 4 nations.

Ospreys coach Filo Tiatia has announced he will leave the Ospreys coaching staff to become forwards coach at Japanese side Toyota Verblitz.

The New Zealander will leave the Ospreys after 5 years, in his final game he helped the Welsh club to win the Magners league grand final.

“I wouldn’t have left the Ospreys for just any club,” said Tiatia.

“I’m going back to Toyota, another club that I have strong links and a real connection with having spent four years there prior to joining the Ospreys.

“It is an organisation and a place that I’m familiar with and having been fortunate enough to enjoy some fantastic experiences as a coach with the Ospreys, this move will provide me with another excellent opportunity to develop my coaching further.”

Tiatias announcement to leave follows that of key players James Hook, full-back Lee Byrne and prop Craig Mitchell while Jerry Collins and Marty Holah have also been linked with moves away from the Liberty Stadium.

Roksport The best place for all your rugby clothing.

Ospreys (14) 27
Tries: Bowe 2. Cons: Biggar. Pens: Biggar 3. DG: Biggar 2.
Scarlets (13) 19
Tries: J Davies. Cons: S Jones. Pens: S Jones 4.

The Ospreys are still in contention for a play-off place, with a much needed win over local rivals the Scarlets. The ospreys dominated the game during a rainy evening in South Wales, but couldn’t quite turn that dominance into a substantial points lead.
Jonathan Davies scored a fine turnover try for the Scarlets, but Bowe also went over in the first half before his opportunist second sealed the result.

The late breakaway try was doubly damaging to the Scarlets, ripping away a precious losing bonus point that leaves them still lowest placed of the four Welsh regions.