Shane Williams has signed a new two-year contract to stay with the Ospreys.

The 34-year-old Wales winger says the contract with the Welsh region is likely to be his last as a player.

“I’ve never wanted to go anywhere else, this is where I’m happiest, and it’s where I want to finish my career.”

“It’s like a family at the Ospreys and I’m a part of the furniture here really,” said Williams in a statement released by the Ospreys.

“I’ve been here a long time now, since the beginning, and I was at Neath before that along with a lot of players who have gone on to become massive Ospreys legends.”

“I’m delighted to have finalised everything now and I’m excited about what’s in store over the next two seasons,” added Williams, who is set to retire from international rugby at the end of this year’s Rugby World Cup.

“You always get a lot of speculation at this time of year, you expect that and you are prepared for it as players.

“When your contract is up for renewal you find yourself reading a lot of speculation, and things that you are supposed to have said that you haven’t, so as players you don’t take any notice of it. I just want to play rugby.

“It’s been a long time finalising things, but I always wanted to stay at the Ospreys and the Ospreys always wanted me to stay. I’m glad that it’s all sorted now.”

Along with Williams signing a new deal the Ospreys have also given extended deals to players

Ryan Jones, Jonathan Thomas, Andrew Bishop, Richard Fussell, Tom Isaacs, Rhys Webb, James King, Kristian Phillips, Scott Baldwin and James Goode.

The region have also recruited Samoa scrum-half Kahn Fotuali’i from New Zealand Super 15 side Crusaders, and back-rowers Joe Bearman [Dragons] and George Stowers [London Irish].

Leave a comment